High: °
Low: °
Chance of precipitation:



Chamber presents annual awards

Photo by Contributed Photo, Contributed

At the annual meeting of the Darien Chamber of Commerce where Volunteer of the Year and Business of the Year were presented were, from left, Carol Wilder-Tamme, chamber president; state Rep. Terrie Wood, R-Darien; First Selectman Jayme Stevenson; chamber Chairman Al Tibbetts of Tibbetts, Keating & Butler LLC; Charles Napolitano, Callari Auto Group/BMW of Darien; Laurie Griffith, Darien Bank & Trust and chamber board member; and Matt Cosgrove, Callari Auto Group/BMW of Darien.

Laurie Griffith was awarded Volunteer Member of the Year and Callari Auto Group/BMW of Darien was awarded Business of the Year at the Darien Chamber of Commerce's recent annual meeting.

Both winners were honored with a town proclamation presented by First Selectman Jayme Stevenson; a citation from the General Assembly presented by state Rep. Terrie Wood, R-Darien; and a Darien Chamber Award plaque from Al Tibbetts, chairman of the Darien Chamber of Commerce.

Griffith is a longstanding chamber member and has served on the board and on the membership, directory and social committees. She is chairman of the events committee.

Her efforts have increased board participation in the Darien Memorial Day parade and in Holiday Magic in Darien events.

The Callari Auto Group executives have served on the board for more than 15 years and have devoted hours of time and energy in the promotion of the Darien chamber and business community. BMW of Darien is the original venue for first Wine Tasting & Charity Auction in 2005, and continues to be a regular host for the event, which supports local charities.

More Information

Fact box